Aleteia logoAleteia logoAleteia
Saturday 13 July |
Saint of the Day: St. Silas
Aleteia logo
separateurCreated with Sketch.

Doctors of the Church named by the last 3 popes


Pier Francesco Sacchi | Public Domain

Philip Kosloski - published on 10/30/21

St. John Paul II, Pope Benedict XVI and Pope Francis have each named a handful of saints as "doctors," notable for their spiritual teachings.

In the Catholic Church, besides naming certain individuals as saints, recognizing their extraordinary practice of virtue, popes over the centuries have singled out specific saints as “Doctors of the Church.”

These men and women are seen as exemplary teachers in various theological or spiritual topics. The official title of “Doctor” stems from the Latin root word docere, meaning “to teach.”

Since the 13th century, there have only been 37 Doctors of the Church named. This is a very small number, as it is a rare title that is given and popes do not grant it frequently.

The last 3 popes have added to the original list, each naming a small handful of saints to this special designation.

Here is a brief slideshow that highlights these saints and which pope named them.

Enjoying your time on Aleteia?

Articles like these are sponsored free for every Catholic through the support of generous readers just like you.

Help us continue to bring the Gospel to people everywhere through uplifting Catholic news, stories, spirituality, and more.

Daily prayer
And today we celebrate...

Top 10
See More
Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here.