Aleteia logoAleteia logoAleteia
Saturday 24 February |
Saint of the Day: Bl. Josef Mayr-Nusser
Aleteia logo
separateurCreated with Sketch.

Confession, reconciliation, penance: Why so many names for one sacrament?


Antoine Mekary | ALETEIA

Philip Kosloski - published on 02/26/19

5 Principal titles each emphasize a different aspect of the sacrament.

In the Catholic Church, the sacrament commonly known as “confession,” where an individual confesses their sins to a priest, is also called by a number of other names.

For those unfamiliar with the seven sacraments, all these names might be confusing.

According to the Catechism of the Catholic Church (CCC), the sacrament has five principal names, each with its own spiritual meaning. Catholics are free to use any of the names, emphasizing different aspects of a beautiful sacrament that brings sinners back into communion with God and each other.

Flip the cards below to learn the meaning behind each name.


Read more:
How to go to confession, a step-by-step guide


Read more:
6 Ways to examine your conscience for Confession

SacramentsSpiritual Life
Support Aleteia!

Enjoying your time on Aleteia?

Articles like these are sponsored free for every Catholic through the support of generous readers just like you.

Thanks to their partnership in our mission, we reach more than 20 million unique users per month!

Help us continue to bring the Gospel to people everywhere through uplifting and transformative Catholic news, stories, spirituality, and more.

Support Aleteia with a gift today!

Daily prayer
And today we celebrate...

Top 10
See More
Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here.